Move the cursor arrow over the images in the mural to explore their significance.
Lent Rapeleye house: The original deed for this property dated New
Amsterdam, September 5, 1645 and given to Hendrich Harmensen. In
1797 passed to Rapeleye family. It was built in the year 1656 making
it the oldest building in Queens. It is still standing beautifully
near LaGuardia airport. It is the oldest private dwelling in Long
type of factory building: belching smoke, dark and dingy (upper
type of factory building: concrete, glass and sunshine (upper left)
Armen Benwery or the Poor Farm: Owned by the Dutch Church of New
Amsterdam as early as 1654 and kept under cultivation for the benefit
of the poor. Obtained from Peter Suyvesant.
Depicting Newtown as the headquarters of the British Army during
Original St. James Church: Part of which is still standing on the
southwest corner of Broadway and Maurice, Avenue, Elmhurst. The
old tower and weathervane was removed many years ago. The oldest
structure used for religious purposes in the old town of Newtown.
Built in 1735, the church received its charter from King George
homestead near mill
mill: On Jackson creek, now marked by the stone bridge on the Grand
Central Parkway at 94th Street. Originally owned by Hendrich Harmensen,
deed dated September 5, 1645 from the Indians. The original mill
was erected in 1656. It was purchased by Thomas Birdsall Jackson
Worker: Wampum, first form of currency made from the clam shell.
Mespachtes Indian: Shortened to Maspet or Maspeth. Located at the
head of the Newtown creek. The hunter, squaw, fisherman with bark
canoe reminds us of the first people in Queens.
Blue Line Horse car from 34th Street Ferry to Astoria passing Queensborough