Minutes from Manhattan, this first Garden Community in Queens boasts
paths that penetrate each block under an umbrella of London plane trees.
This urban delight boasts one of the two private parks in New York City!
For further information, call the Sunnyside Foundation for Community Planning
and Preservation at 718-392-9139.
The following photos of Sunnyside were taken circa 1915.
Skillman Avenue (looking south) between 45th Street and 44th Street
The early residents of Skillman Avenue were (from left to right):
44-20 Jakob and Katherine Hüther - this home was built before
1900 and was previously a small hotel used by hunters who hunted in the
Sunnyside woods. It was purchased about 1900 by the Hüther family
and became their general store and residence. In addition to the general
store, Jakob delivered produce door to door with a horse and wagon. He
used the pond in the foreground to raise ducks. 44-18 Nicholas Hegadus family. The Hüthere family owned this
rental home. 44-16 Chisholm family. This Hüther family rental home was
built using parts from houses that were dismantled when the Sunnyside
Railroad Yard was built. Later, Frank and Louise (Hüther) Leahy owned
it. They lived in this house until their retirement in about 1960. The
house was then sold to a couple from Manhattan. In about 1965, it was
sold and demolished to build the Queen of Angels church. 44-10 Peter Foy family. The Foy family raised nine children in
this house. 44-08 Nee family. The Puppalo family owned this rental house. 44-06 Puppalo family.
Houses along Skillman Avenue - this photo was taken from 43rd Street
The ladies are standing at the corner of Skillman Ave. and 44th Street
and the wagons are on 44th Street. The early residents of Skillman Avenue
were (from left to right): 44-20 Jakob and Katherine Hüther 44-18 Nicholas Hegadus family 44-16 Chisholm family. Later, Frank and Louise Leahy owned this
house. 44-10 Peter Foy family 44-8 Nee family 44-6 Puppalo family The early residents of 44th Street were (from
left to right): Relatives of the Puppalo family Stratford family (house
partially blocked by tree)
The house in the right side foreground of the photo is at the corner
of 45th Street and Skillman Avenue. The area behind the house was for
wagons and horses. It faced Skillman Avenue and was owned in 1915 by Jakob
and Katherine Hüther. 46th Street did not exist at that time. Skillman
Avenue ended at a duck pond where 46th Street was later built. Early residents
of 45th Street were (in the center foreground from left to right): the
Maxaner family (trees in front), the Klein family and the DAmato
family. The DAmato house was later converted to a synagogue. Some
of the houses in this photo were actually moved here when the Sunnyside
Railroad Yard was build. It is thought that the Maxaner house was moved
from the area of Middleburg Avenue. On the right side of the photo, you
can see the viaduct over the railroad yards at 39th St. In the background
is Long Island City. The bridge in the upper right is the Queensborough
Bridge. The clock on the Brewster building at 23rd St. in Long Island
City can also be seen.
Note: This information was compiled by Mike Leahy based
on interviews conducted in the 1970s with original residents: Louise
Hüther Leahy, John Leahy, Isabelle Foy Weber and Margie Burke ONeill.
Cathy Maxaner, daughter of Dora Hüther Maxaner, owns the original